Archive for February 17th, 2010

h1

Virtually A Great Day

February 17, 2010

In my virtual reality, this is how I spent my day.

I woke up just before 8.  Ducky and her sister, Dandy, lay against me in the bed, their eyes open, waiting for me to wake up.  When I pushed the button on my nightstand to open our black-out shades, both dogs turned into wiggle-waggle-squeaking machines.  We exchanged exuberant oh-my-god-it’s-been-forever-since-we’ve-seen-you greetings while I looked out the window at the sun’s glitter on the surface of the ocean.

Tim had already left to go play golf.  So I threw on my clothes, made a quick fruit smoothie, and the dogs and I set off for our walk on our acreage.  We have four mile-plus long trails, and we did all of them today.  Sun shining.  Cool breeze.  It was a wonderful walk.

I returned home, rinsed their feet in the Springer room (where we groom them), then went downstairs to the work-out room.  I spent 4 minutes on the ROM and another 20 minutes practicing a dance routine I’m working on.  The dogs watched me and rated my performance at a 7 out of 10—needs work.  We all went back upstairs and I got into the Bath Cave (Tim’s name for our large stone shower).  After my shower, I ate a small bowl of cereal.

I had have no writing deadlines right now, so after I ate, I went (with dogs at my side, of course) up to my art studio.  I’ve been taking watercolor lessons, and I’m working on a landscape of the view from our home.  From the expressions on Ducky’s and Dandy’s faces, I think they rate it even lower than my dance routine; but I’m having fun with it.

When Tim came home about 12:30, he found me at my easel.  He and the dogs exchanged their wild greetings.  He smelled all “golfy”—a mixture of grass and sweat and satisfaction.  He said he was getting in the hot tub and wanted company.  That was fine by me.

We spent the next 45 minutes in the hot tub while the dogs snoozed nearby (they ran like crazy on their walk and were still worn out).  I love the hot tub—it never fails to put Tim and I in a great mood, if you know what I mean. I’m surprised he has so much energy after golfing, but he does, which is great.

Tim took a shower.  I threw on some clothes and went down to the music room to practice piano and singing the harmony part I’m learning for a song Tim and I are working on together.  Ducky and Dandy got their second wind and wrestled on the exercise mat outside the music room.

After my practice, I went to my office and updated my Joyful Springer blog.  Tim was in his shop.  He’s working on a table for some friends of ours.  He’s been learning so much from our neighbor, who’s been wordworking for years.

I went back up to my studio to do some cartoon drawing and was surprised when Tim came in and told me it was almost 7.  I really got lost in what I was doing.

Tim and I made burritos for dinner with fresh guacamole for me.  He’s cleaning up the kitchen while I make this post, and then we’re going up to the SPAP (Scrabble, Ping pong And Pool) room to play some pool.  We’ll probably watch a movie in bed later.  The dogs love it when we do that because they can curl up with us.

It’s been a wonderful day in the Waggery, which means it’s been a normal day.  I’m so blessed.

…and this was me telling the story of what I want, not what is.